Top Stories

Grid List

After naming a 13 rider long list for the Tour de France less than a week ago, Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka is extremely happy to announce its final selection of 9 riders that will take on the 103rd edition of the Le Grand Boucle - the first ever for an African World Tour team.

Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka will return to the Tour de France after a successful premiere 12 months ago, setting another massive milestone for African cycling.

Tomorrow Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka start the UCI 2.1 Tour de Slovenia. It will be the first time our African Team participates in this 4 stage event and we will have a strong team ready to race for victory each day.

In a repeat performance of last year, Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio won the final stage of Auensteiner – Radsporttage and with it taking the overall victory. The former South African champion has showed great form over the past weeks and was ecstatic to take her first UCI win of the season.

After what has been probably the most difficult week in our African Team's history, with our young continental rider Keagan Girdlestone having a life threatening crash in Italy on Sunday, Edvald Boasson Hagen gave the Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka family reason to smile again. Boasson Hagen won stage 4 of the Criterium du Dauphine with a powerful sprint into Belley.

Team Dimension Data for Qhubeka will race the GP du canton d'Argovie which takes place on Thursday, 9 June in Gippengen, Switzerland.

Downhill enthusiast, Mark Millar, is keen to hit the hills with horns when he competes in the 2016 KZNMTB Provincial Downhill and Enduro Championships – presented by Greg Minnaar Cycles, which takes place this weekend at Cascades MTB Park in Pietermaritzburg from 2-3 July. Entries are still open and close at midnight tonight (Wednesday 29 June 2016).

Johannesburg’s Greig Knox, who was a late entrant, surprised even himself when he outlasted his competition to win the Bestmed Sondela MTB Classic near Bela-Bela in Limpopo on Sunday.

Current National Champion Cherie Redecker (Novus OMX Pro Team) and Stuart Marais were crowned Elite Provincial Champions amidst brilliant conditions at the all-exciting 2016 KZNMTB Provincial XCO Championships, which took place at Cascades MTB Park in Pietermaritzburg on Saturday 25 June.

Experienced mountain biker Bennie Pearson is approaching Sunday’s feature race at the Bestmed Sondela MTB Classic with a sense of excitement following the creation of a new route.

A rare moment of indecision darted across Ariane Kleinhans's face at the start line of the Raid Evolènade, Swiss Marathon Championships in Evolène on Sunday, 19 June. She was puzzling at the grey skies all around her. Should she race with a wind vest or not?

Young mountain biking stars Dylan Rebello (Momsen Factory Team) and Candice Neethling (Team Dorma) secured the Solo Men’s and Solo Women’s RECM Knysna 200 titles on Sunday.

Cycling South Africa welcomes Ciska Austin as Vice president, who was elected at the Cycling SA Council Meeting held in Johannesburg on 11 June 2016.

South African road cycling ace, Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio has been making waves abroad once again, and is confident that her unfortunate start to the season is a thing of the past when she recently repeated her success of last year by winning the three-stage Auensteiner Radsporttage in Germany on 11 and 12 June.

The Happy Valley Conservancy played host to the fifth and final round of the STIHL 2016 SA XCO Cup Series in Bloemfontein on Saturday 18 June. Novus OMX Pro MTB Team’s Cherie Redecker and Team SCOTT LCB’s Philip Buys took the respective wins in the Elite Women and Men’s category at the first UCI Category 2 cross-country event to take place in the Free State.

The fifth and final round of the STIHL 2016 SA MTB Cup Series XCO takes place at the Happy Valley Conservancy in Bloemfontein on Saturday 18 June. Entries close at midnight tonight (Tuesday 14 June 2016). The top Series Log contenders in the Pro-Elite Men category, Philip Buys and Alan Hatherly, are prepared to give the final round their all at the new Free State track.

As the fifth and final round of the STIHL 2016 SA MTB Cup Series XCO draws nearer, race Organiser Willem Raubenheimer says that the final round’s course will suit the technically-skilled riders who can also climb well. The finale event takes place at the Happy Valley Conservancy in Bloemfontein on Saturday 18 June.

The annual Oudtshoorn Youth Festival once again heads to the Western Cape and takes place this year from Monday 27th to Thursday 30th June 2016. The festival encourages all young riders to participate as cycling teams.

Images from the 2016 Tour Durban. Bradley Potgieter won the men's event and Lise Olivier won the women's event.

Images from the 2016 Emperors Palace Road Classic held at Emperors Palace Casino.

Images from the 2016 Gauteng Provincial Road Cycling Championships that took place at The Circus.

Images from the 2016 Carnival City Macsteel National Classic.

Images from day 4 of 2016 SA Road Champs.

Images from day 3 of 2016 SA Road Championships.



Johannesburg South Africa Clear (night), 5 °C
Current Conditions
Sunrise: 6:56 am   |   Sunset: 5:28 pm
67%     17.7 km/h     28.513 bar
Fri Low: 5 °C High: 19 °C
Sat Low: 3 °C High: 15 °C
Sun Low: 3 °C High: 13 °C
Mon Low: 2 °C High: 15 °C
Tue Low: 3 °C High: 15 °C
Wed Low: 3 °C High: 15 °C
Thu Low: 3 °C High: 12 °C
Fri Low: 1 °C High: 14 °C
Sat Low: 4 °C High: 16 °C
Sun Low: 3 °C High: 16 °C