Schoeman wins Pennypinchers Cycle Tour in Oudtshoorn


The ladies started the 104km Pennypinchers Cape Town Cycle Tour qualifier race with the men in the Open Licensed Group on a very sunny, beautiful and windless morning. The race immediately started with a very high pace and the bunch was broken into smaller groups within the first 5 kilometers of the race on the Cango Caves road as Telkom, Giant and Aurecon riders set a very hard pace.

Anriette Schoeman (Africa Silks Bestmed), Fienie Barnard (Liv), Yolande de Villiers (Ultimate Cycling) and Nadia Visser stayed with the leading bunch.

The steep 2km climb about 20km into the race at Schoemans Poort caused the bunch to break up into three groups. Schoeman, De Villiers and Barnard managed to stay with the leading men as Visser lost contact. As expected team Telkom Team launched a huge attack 32km into the race on the dreaded 5.5km climb at the foot of the Swartberg Mountain. This caused the main bunch to split into two groups. Schoeman, De Villiers and Barnard found themselves in the chasing bunch. Midway up the climb Schoeman slowly started to open a gap on Barnard and De Villiers who stay together. At the turning point Hoffman, Carstens, Boshoff, Jacobs, Maree and Cronje had a 3min time gap on the chasing bunch. They were chased hard by Butler, Merrington and Gouveris who were chased by the main bunch with Anriette Schoeman.

Both Hoffmann and Schoeman took the KOM and QOM at the Cango Caves with 30km to go. At this stage it was clear that Hoffmann’s group would stay away and that Anriette Schoeman will not be caught by De Villiers and Barnard.

It was then again Hoffmann who dominated the sprint to the finish to take the 1st place in 2:44:49 with Evan Carstens 2nd and Juan Jacobs 3rd.

Anriette Schoeman finished only lady in the main bunch to win her 6th Pennypinchers Cycle Tour.

Vicus Boshoff 1st vet 40 – 49 must be congratulated with an awesome effort to finish top 5 amongst the professional riders.

Anriette Schoeman praised the organizers for hosting a prestigious but very tough event. Nolan Hoffman thanked his team and the organizers while Dave Bellairs congratulated the organizers and sponsors for hosting a very tough but excellent event.


Men Overall

Nolan Hoffmann – 02:44:49

Evan Carsten’s – 02:44:49

Juan Jacobs – 2:45:00

Chris Cronje – 02:45:01

Vicus Boshoff – 02:45:02


Ladies Overall

Anriette Schoeman – 02:50:40

Yolande de Villiers – 03:01:40

Frances Barnard – 03:01:42

Siska v/d Bijl – 03:07:17

Nadia Visser – 03:18:07

Giant Propel